Cal U logo

Theatre and Dance: THE 150: Theatrical Design

Resources for Theatre and Dance.

Web Resources

  • Instructables
  • Ultimate Paper Mache
  • Prop Handbook
  • Mold making and casting
  • Theatre Props Table

Theatrical Design Articles

Films & Plays 

Full Text Plays and Scripts

Search almost all of the library's resources in "one search"

Search OneSearch
Limit Your Results to...

Theatrical Design Articles and Books

Periodical

By: Zimmerman, Philip D.. Magazine Antiques , May/Jun2016, Vol. 183 Issue 3, p110-113, 4p, 6 Color Photographs, 1 Black and White Photograph Abstract: The article offers suggestions for distinguishing American furniture from English furniture. Topics discussed include need of identification due to different monetary values and desirability, differences on the basis of design, material and construction, fashionability of English furniture, use of upholstery in American armchair, and dependence of American armchairs on mortise and tenon joinery.; (AN 115196808), Database: Art Source

Subjects: American furniture; Upholstery; Furniture design; Furniture making; Mortise & tenon joinery; Industrial Design Services; Other wood household furniture manufacturing; Reupholstery andFurniture Repair; All Other Miscellaneous Textile Product Mills

Add to folder
  • Book Jacket

    eBook

    By: Lawson, Stuart. London : Laurence King Publishing. 2013. eBook. Description: Furniture Design is a comprehensive guide and resource for students and furniture designers. As well as discussing pioneering contemporary and historical designs, it also provides substantive answers to designers'questions about function, materials, manufacture and sustainability, integrating guidance on all of these subjects – particularly material and manufacturing properties, in one accessible and structured volume. Many leading contemporary furniture designers from around the world are included, ... (AN 926174), Database: eBook Academic Collection Trial

    Subjects: DESIGN / FurnitureFurniture design; Industrial design

    Add to folder

    Show this area Most Relevant Pages From This eBook

  • Academic Journal

    By: Xin You LIU; TIMAR, Maria Cristina; Song Lin YI. Pro Ligno. Dec2013, Vol. 9 Issue 4, p256-264. 9p. Abstract: The paper represents an incursion into the history of traditional Chinese furniture, initiated 7000 years ago, providing a brief description of the most important wood species employed. The history of traditional Chinese furniture can be divided into four major historical periods (the youth period, the growth period, the development period and the maturity period) encompassing several dynasties such as: the Han Dynasty, the Song Dynasty, the Yuan Dynasty, the Ming Dynasty and the Qing Dynasty etc. Thus, traditional Chinese furniture varied and evolved from one historical period to another, expressing specific patterns of structure, style and skilfulness in terms of manufacturing, decoration and finishing for each period. The differences of climate, culture and lifestyle between the North and the South China had a strong influence on the manufacture of Chinesefurniture. These differences have been reflected not only in the style and dimensions of furniture but also in the local wood species employed. For instance, Hong Mu, (Dalbergia cochinchinensis Pierre), Ju Mu (Zelkova Spach) are specific to the south, while Zhang Mu (Cinnamomum Camphora (L.) Presl) and He Tao Qiu (Juglans mandshurica Maxim) where used in north. Moreover, imported wood species, such as Zi Tan (Pterocarpus indicus.), Huang Hua Li (Dalbergia odorifera T.Chen), were used alongside the local indigene ones throughout history. Reflecting the aesthetic awareness and the spiritual specificity of the Chinese culture, traditional Chinese furniture represents a splendid example of artistic mastery, recognized as a valuable component of the world cultural heritage. Therefore, conservation of traditional Chinese furniture is of great importance and this can not be accomplished without its understanding in terms of significance, structure and materials. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR] (AN: 93608967)

    Subjects: FURNITURE; RESEARCH; WOOD -- Research; FURNITURE industry; CHINA; HONG Mu; ZHANG Mu

    Add to folder
  • Academic Journal

    By: broadwater, eric. TD&T: Theatre Design & Technology, Winter2015, Vol. 51 Issue 1, p37-48, 12p, 16 Color Photographs, 2 Black and White Photographs, 1 Illustration, 1 Diagram Abstract: The article discusses the use of a digital process to design the scenic set for a production of the play "Twelfth Night," by William Shakespeare. Topics include the use of a digital drawing tablet, the use ofdesign and modeling software, and differences between 3D modeling software that allows for mapping (texturing or painting) and computer-assisted design (CAD) software. Also noted are rendering, the portrayal of lighting, and 3D printing possibilities.; (AN 110011070), Database: Art Source

    Subjects: Computer Systems Design Services; Gypsum Product Manufacturing; Design -- Software; Set design -- Software; Tablet computers; Computer-aided design -- Software; Modeling (Sculpture) -- Software; Three-dimensional printing; Twelfth Night (Theatrical production)

    Add to folder
Monica Ruane Rogers's picture
Monica Ruane Rogers
Contact:
Manderino Library, 109

Address:
250 University Avenue
Box 15
California, PA
15419

Stage and Props Images

 

Library of Congress American Memory
More than 7 million sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience drawn from more than 100 collections

New York Pulic Library Gallery
650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities--illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, and other printed ephemera

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Reading Room
Images from the Library of Congress.

LIFE photo archive
Millions of images from Life Magazine, from 1750s through today. Hosted by Google.

WorldImages
Images from the California State University IMAGE Project. Organized by subject.

Flickr Common
Photographs from cultural heritage institutions such as libraries and museums.

McCoy's Guide to Theatre&Performance Studies
A brief guide to internet resources organized by Ken McCoy of Stetson University. Links to comprehensive sites, unique or special interest sites and sites providing valuable research tools.

List of Theater Images on the Web
Online theater image collections, maintained by a librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

This site is maintained by Loring Prest, Library Webmaster and Carol Jones, Library Information Systems Administrator.
© California University of Pennsylvania, 250 University Ave, California, PA 15419, All Rights Reserved.