Cal U logo

K-12 Teacher Resources: Children's Literature

Resources for student teachers and future educators

Browsing Non-Fiction

You may find it useful to browse the Curriculum Collection for books on your subject, especially if you are looking for textbooks. The books are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress classification scheme (see below). Just find the section of books under the letter corresponding to your subject area and see what we have!

BL -- Religion and Mythology
D -- World History
E -- American History
G -- Geography and Atlases
GV -- Sports
J -- Political Science
K-- Law
L -- Education
LB-- Reading and Language Arts Textbooks
M -- Music
N -- Art
PN 3000's -- Drama and Theater
Q -- Math and Science
R -- Health and Medicine
T -- Technology

Websites

This short list of includes some major Children's and YA literature sites that include book lists, thematic guides to books, author information, lesson plans and more.

  • Amazon.com Children's Books
    Among other useful tools, Amazon provides book reviews from sources such as School Library Journal and Horn Book, as well as information about age-level appropriateness for titles.
  • Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
    Includes book reviews, lists and classroom activities.
  • Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
    "The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards."
  • Horn Book Resources
    This site is from Horn Book Magazine includes recommended books, classroom tips, family reading, and links to Horns lists of national, international and state book awards.
  • Kidsread.com
    Provides book reviews and author interviews for children along with games and contests. Browse by author, title, keyword.
  • Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page
    A Rutgers University site containing unique information on children's literature, especially picture books.

Award Winners and "Best of" Children's Books

  • Batchelder Award
    Publisher award for best translated children's book - given by the American Library Association
  • Belpre Medal
    Author and illustrator awards for Latin American children's books - given by American Library Association
  • Caldecott Medal
    Illustrator award for children's book - given by American Library Association
  • Coretta Scott King Award
    African American author and illustrator awards for children's books given by American Library Association
  • Geisel Award
    Author award for book for beginning readers - given by the American Library Association
  • Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards
    Book awards fiction and poetry, picture book, and nonfiction -given by Horn Book Magazine and the Boston Globe.
  • Newbery Medal
    Author award for children's book- given by American Library Association
  • Notable Trade Books for Young People
    Best social studies books for children, selected by the National Council for the Social Studies and the Children's Book Council.
  • Orbis Pictus Award
    Author award for nonfiction - given by the National Council of Teachers of English
  • Outstanding Science Trade Books K-12
    Best science trade books for children - list selected by the National Science Teachers Association and the Children's Book Council.
  • Sibert Award
    Best informational book award - given by the American Library Association

Using the Curriculum Collection

Needs materials for a class you're teaching?

Try searching our Curriculum Collection in PILOT: The Library's Catalog.


When you're in PILOT, Select Curriculum Collection or Curriculum Theme Kits under Set Single Limit.

Children's and YA Lit in Manderino

Children's and young adult books, as well as textbooks and other resources for teaching K-12, are located in the library's Curriculum Collection on the 1st floor (to the left as you enter building). The collection is shelved in several individual collections:

Caldecott Medal Winner: Includes Caldecott winnners (not honor books). They are shelved together on the low shelving across from the vending machines in the Curriculum area. Here's how these look in PILOT:Library Location: Caldecott Medal Winner (1st floor--Curriculum Collection)  Call Number: PR6035.A63 F66 1968
Newbery Medal Winner: Includes (you guessed it) Newbury  Award winners. They are shelved together on the low shelving across from the vending machines in the Curriculum area. Here's how these look in PILOT: Library Location: Newbery Medal Winner (1st floor--Curriculum Collection)   Call Number: PS3553.U6944 B832 1999

Curriculum Theme Kit: Includes mini-collections of books, lesson plans, manipulatives, and other media about popular topics for the elementary classroom (e.g., five senses, colonial America, the Oregon Trail) . These kits were created by Cal U Elementary Education Students. Here's how these look in PILOTLibrary Location: Curriculum Theme Kit (1st floor outside Room 124)  Call Number: OREGON TRAIL

Curriculum Collection: By far the largest collection in the Curriculum area, this collection includes everything else -  picture books, chapter books, young adult novels, lesson plan books, and other resources for education students. Here's how these look in PILOT:  Library Location: Curriculum Collection (1st Floor)  Call Number: GR230 .B64 1964  

Children's Lit at Other Libraries

Local public libraries are a great source for Children's and YA literature. Here are a few:

or, see a list of all public libraries in Pennsylvania

Traveling to another library not an option? Use EZ-Borrow!

This site is maintained by Loring Prest, Library Webmaster and Carol Jones, Library Information Systems Administrator.
© California University of Pennsylvania, 250 University Ave, California, PA 15419, All Rights Reserved.